Information about Singapore: Stock Exchange of Singapore
Stock Exchange of Singapore

The Stock Exchange of Singapore (SES) is governed by a committee comprising four elected stockbroking members and five appointed non-broking members.

Trading sessions are held Monday to Friday, from 9 am to 12.30 pm and from 2 pm to 5 pm.

As at end-1998, there were 30 trading member companies to which 108 stockbroking members, 868 dealers and 2,240 remisiers were attached.

Companies listed on the Mainboard of SES are classified into five groups: industrial and commercial, finance, property, hotel, and plantation. At the end of December 1998, there were 307 companies with a total market capitalisation of S$263 billion, excluding debentures, bonds and loan stocks, all of which are also traded on the exchange.

In 1999 alone, more than 20 companies will be newly listed on the stock exchange.

At the close of 1998, 64 companies with a market capitalisation of S$2.45 billion were traded on the Stock Exchange of Singapore Dealing and Automated Quotation (SESDAQ) market. SESDAQ was launched in 1987 to enable small- and medium-sized Singapore companies with good prospects to raise funds for expansion.

Back to General Information